16v Mini Club Forums  

Go Back   16v Mini Club Forums > General Public Area > Honda Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28-01-2018, 10:55 AM   #1
Oz
Senior Member
 
Oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Posts: 4,215
Subframe: Other
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: DTA
Default Using Mini Speedo with vtec gearbox

It looks like it's possible to used off the shelf parts to connect a Clubman/later Mini speedo to a Honda gear box.

What you need is a Rover 200 (one with the Honda D series) speedo cable and rubber grommet (long thin one at gearbox end of cable - they are sold separately but are assembled in the photo below)



Part numbers in photo

If you have a early cable clutch box this is all you need

If you have the later hydraulic clutch box then the speedo drive is electronic however internally its the same as an earlier drive so can be adapted.

The earlier boxes have a metal speedo drive converter which the VSS bolts on to. This will need to be replaced with the drive parts from a cable clutch box or a later plastic VSS modified as follows:-

1) Using a round file, file a groove just below the VSS connector
2) Using a hacksaw, cut the VSS connector off - IMPORTANT do not cut across the sensor. With the sensor held upside down in a vice (speedo drive end up) make 4 cuts down onto the connector at 90 degrees apart so that you leave a square of plastic above the groove you've just filed.
3) Using a flat file, file the square in to a circle a little smaller than the body of the sensor and then file it in to a wedge shape. Don't go too mad as the plastic is not very thick here



The rubber grommet can then be eased on to the VSS and then the cable slotted through and connected in to the drive in the sensor. The grommet is a tight fit so its easier to fit the cable after the grommet - Just make sure you engage the end of the cable in the speedo drive properly. You can check this by turning the speedo pinion gear and the speedo end should turn with it



On the other end of the cable you need to cut 110-120mm off the rubber tube covering the cable otherwise you won't be able to fit the bulkhead grommet.



On the body you need to open up the speedo cable hole in the bulkhead to an egg shape to fit the Rover 200 grommet that's fitted on the cable



IMPORTANT NOTE - Modding the VSS as above removes the VSS signal and so if you are using the standard Honda ECU you will find the vtec will not engage as it requires a VSS signal. This mod works with aftermarket ECUs that don't rely on a VSS signal or ones that it can be coded out on. If you are using a standard ECU then further work will be required. The usual work around is to fit a reed switch in to the Speedo head to produce a suitable signal which can then be wired in to the VSS wire(s) to the ECU. This has been covered in old threads but I've not looked recently as to how detailed these are

Edit - http://www.16vminiclub.com/showthrea...ht=reed+switch is a decent thread that might assist re mimicking the VSS
__________________
New subframe fitting has begun - slowly

Build Thread - Standard Round Nose with K series subframe build begun

Last edited by Oz; 26-10-2018 at 05:35 PM.
Oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2018, 11:09 AM   #2
Oz
Senior Member
 
Oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Posts: 4,215
Subframe: Other
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: DTA
Default

The Mini speedo will read low by about 10-15% depending on FD and wheel size and will need recalibrating but this can be done by Speedy Cables
__________________
New subframe fitting has begun - slowly

Build Thread - Standard Round Nose with K series subframe build begun

Last edited by Oz; 28-01-2018 at 04:13 PM.
Oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2018, 12:48 PM   #3
GEORDIE SP1
Senior Member
 
GEORDIE SP1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 231
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 1800
Make: Honda
ECU: Standard
Default

Nice work OZ, means you can use the early cable honda instrument panels also.
GEORDIE SP1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2018, 04:15 PM   #4
Oz
Senior Member
 
Oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Posts: 4,215
Subframe: Other
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: DTA
Default

I'd just note that the work I've done is based around a RHD Mini, you'd need to check cable length and clearance on the plenum for LHD
__________________
New subframe fitting has begun - slowly

Build Thread - Standard Round Nose with K series subframe build begun
Oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2018, 10:29 PM   #5
fynnbar
Senior Member
 
fynnbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,288
Subframe: SAE
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: Standard obd1-P30
Default

Sticky !!
fynnbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2018, 09:37 AM   #6
Oz
Senior Member
 
Oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Posts: 4,215
Subframe: Other
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: DTA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GEORDIE SP1 View Post
Nice work OZ, means you can use the early cable honda instrument panels also.
Very true and this retains the VSS signal so doesn't need any further mods to make vtec engage
__________________
New subframe fitting has begun - slowly

Build Thread - Standard Round Nose with K series subframe build begun

Last edited by Oz; 29-01-2018 at 03:40 PM.
Oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2018, 09:38 AM   #7
Oz
Senior Member
 
Oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Posts: 4,215
Subframe: Other
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: DTA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fynnbar View Post
Sticky !!
I have asked for Admin approval to sticky the thread
__________________
New subframe fitting has begun - slowly

Build Thread - Standard Round Nose with K series subframe build begun
Oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2018, 12:24 PM   #8
Ken555
Member
 
Ken555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NE Scotland
Posts: 40
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1590
Make: Honda
ECU: PW0 with custom map
Default

What we/I need is a system that keeps the VSS signal and allows a cable drive.

At the moment, I have the cable system and a reed switch inside the original Smiths speed.
Ken555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2018, 01:32 PM   #9
Oz
Senior Member
 
Oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Posts: 4,215
Subframe: Other
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: DTA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken555 View Post
What we/I need is a system that keeps the VSS signal and allows a cable drive.

At the moment, I have the cable system and a reed switch inside the original Smiths speed.
I don't think that's possible going by the way the VSS is made, I think you are using the only way it can be achieved.

I'm using DTA so it does away with the need for a VSS signal
__________________
New subframe fitting has begun - slowly

Build Thread - Standard Round Nose with K series subframe build begun
Oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2018, 02:07 PM   #10
Oz
Senior Member
 
Oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Posts: 4,215
Subframe: Other
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: DTA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fynnbar View Post
Sticky !!
Quote:
I have asked for Admin approval to sticky the thread
Approved and I've edited the first post to take in to account comments re the VSS signal
__________________
New subframe fitting has begun - slowly

Build Thread - Standard Round Nose with K series subframe build begun
Oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2018, 02:55 PM   #11
Haz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southport
Posts: 136
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1600
Make: Honda
ECU: Standard
Default

Looking at doing this mod soon. Does anyone know if the Hondata S300 ECU has the capability to code out the VSS requirement for vtec engagement?
Haz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 08:16 AM   #12
keitht
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dundalk
Posts: 459
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 1615
Make: Honda
ECU: Hondata
Send a message via AIM to keitht
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haz View Post
Looking at doing this mod soon. Does anyone know if the Hondata S300 ECU has the capability to code out the VSS requirement for vtec engagement?
Yes you can configure vtec engagement criteria with the S300.
keitht is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.