16v Mini Club Forums  

Go Back   16v Mini Club Forums > General Public Area > Rover Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2017, 05:20 PM   #1
Bigredmini94
Member
 
Bigredmini94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kent
Posts: 53
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 1800 t
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default Will not start ?

Hello I had the engine running about 8 months ago but I took it out to change my front frame put it all back together and wired it the same but it just will not start got power from ecu to all the engine sensors , it's showing 1.8v at all of them is this low ?
I've gone over it again and again and can't work it out it's a k maps ecu deimmobilezed?
Bigredmini94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 08:29 PM   #2
Chris16v
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 532
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8 t
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigredmini94 View Post
Hello I had the engine running about 8 months ago but I took it out to change my front frame put it all back together and wired it the same but it just will not start got power from ecu to all the engine sensors , it's showing 1.8v at all of them is this low ?
I've gone over it again and again and can't work it out it's a k maps ecu deimmobilezed?
Have you connected the engine to body earth strap? what's your actual battery voltage? or voltage at a switched or permanent live?
Chris16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 08:41 PM   #3
geachy87
Senior Member
 
geachy87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Campbeltown, Scotland
Posts: 441
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1.8t
Make: Rover
ECU: Kmaps
Default

Also is the engine turning over and not firing or is it not turning at all?
geachy87 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 06:23 AM   #4
Bigredmini94
Member
 
Bigredmini94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kent
Posts: 53
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 1800 t
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geachy87 View Post
Also is the engine turning over and not firing or is it not turning at all?
I've got 12 v at the permanent live and 12 volt at the switched live, yeah earth is attached also and a jump lead.
I can hear everything power up when ignition is on and cranks over just won't start, checked the ht lead and I am not getting a spark but getting power to the coils ?
I've also replaced the crankshaft sensor in case that was no good .

Last edited by Bigredmini94; 10-10-2017 at 06:35 AM.
Bigredmini94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 07:42 AM   #5
Oz
Senior Member
 
Oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Posts: 4,188
Subframe: Other
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: DTA
Default

Is the battery charged ?
__________________
New subframe fitting has begun - slowly

Build Thread - Standard Round Nose with K series subframe build begun
Oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 12:59 PM   #6
Bigredmini94
Member
 
Bigredmini94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kent
Posts: 53
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 1800 t
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oz View Post
Is the battery charged ?
Yeah tried another and still no luck .
Thinking maybe the ecu ?
Bigredmini94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 03:47 PM   #7
Oz
Senior Member
 
Oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Posts: 4,188
Subframe: Other
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: DTA
Default

Have you tried spraying easi-start in whilst cranking ? If it tries to fire then it's not ignition based so likely to be fuel based. If not then the plugs aren't sparking.
__________________
New subframe fitting has begun - slowly

Build Thread - Standard Round Nose with K series subframe build begun
Oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 07:46 PM   #8
Bigredmini94
Member
 
Bigredmini94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kent
Posts: 53
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 1800 t
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oz View Post
Have you tried spraying easi-start in whilst cranking ? If it tries to fire then it's not ignition based so likely to be fuel based. If not then the plugs aren't sparking.
Yeah I've also tried that I'm getting power to the coils but no spark checked them with a screw drive up the ht lead I can't see the ecu just packing up ?
Bigredmini94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 08:41 PM   #9
geachy87
Senior Member
 
geachy87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Campbeltown, Scotland
Posts: 441
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1.8t
Make: Rover
ECU: Kmaps
Default

Have you got all the ecu earths connected up?
If it was running before it's probably something silly like that, or a loose wire in a plug somewhere, probably need to go round all the connections and check all the wires are right in.

Also instead of sticking a screw driver up the lead, pop a spark plug into one of the coils and earth it then crank the engine and see if there's a spark
geachy87 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 08:10 AM   #10
Bigredmini94
Member
 
Bigredmini94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kent
Posts: 53
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 1800 t
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geachy87 View Post
Have you got all the ecu earths connected up?
If it was running before it's probably something silly like that, or a loose wire in a plug somewhere, probably need to go round all the connections and check all the wires are right in.

Also instead of sticking a screw driver up the lead, pop a spark plug into one of the coils and earth it then crank the engine and see if there's a spark
I think it maybe that, last night I took the engine loom back out to find the oil pressure ground sense for the ecu pin6 broke can this stop the car running as it can't sense a oil pressure ?
Also should I get a constant 12volt feed to the coils?
Thanks
Bigredmini94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 09:05 AM   #11
geachy87
Senior Member
 
geachy87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Campbeltown, Scotland
Posts: 441
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1.8t
Make: Rover
ECU: Kmaps
Default

Ecu pin 6 is for oil temperature ground so shouldn't cause a problem, oil pressure is the single wire sensor which goes up to the warning light on the dash. There should be a feed to the coils, it's when the feed is cut that you get the spark so it should be fluctuating between energising and sparking as you crank the engine over. I've never actually had to check one in this way but that's how I understand it to work anyway.

Can you hear the fuel pump prime? When you connected everything back up did you press the lock button on the fob a few times then unlock to re sync the 5as immobiliser module? Sounds like you could still be immobilised and that's all that's needed
geachy87 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2017, 10:09 PM   #12
Phaeton
Senior Member
 
Phaeton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just outside Worksop
Posts: 610
Default

Have you wired in the inertia switch (always a good idea) if so have you reset it?
Phaeton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2017, 06:47 AM   #13
Chris16v
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 532
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8 t
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phaeton View Post
Have you wired in the inertia switch (always a good idea) if so have you reset it?
Good call!, I've had this trip out when the battery gets re connected
Chris16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2017, 05:03 PM   #14
Bigredmini94
Member
 
Bigredmini94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kent
Posts: 53
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 1800 t
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geachy87 View Post
Ecu pin 6 is for oil temperature ground so shouldn't cause a problem, oil pressure is the single wire sensor which goes up to the warning light on the dash. There should be a feed to the coils, it's when the feed is cut that you get the spark so it should be fluctuating between energising and sparking as you crank the engine over. I've never actually had to check one in this way but that's how I understand it to work anyway.

Can you hear the fuel pump prime? When you connected everything back up did you press the lock button on the fob a few times then unlock to re sync the 5as immobiliser module? Sounds like you could still be immobilised and that's all that's needed
Not running immobilizer, it seemed to be a bent pin for the coils /injector connector near the throttle body grapesed me right off but thanks for the help .

Sent from my SM-A310F using Tapatalk
Bigredmini94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.