16v Mini Club Forums  

Go Back   16v Mini Club Forums > General Public Area > General 16v Mini Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2018, 04:34 PM   #1
MattG
Administrator
 
MattG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: West Sussex,UK
Posts: 7,323
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 2000
Make: Vauxhall
ECU: Megasquirt
Default digital Dash - 1800 quid budget

What would be the best digital dash i can get for 1800 GBP ?

GPS ? data logging ? TFT screen ? etc

what people used / seen ?
__________________
Mini Restoration on YouTube
VW camper in storage , Red hot , www.16vmini.co.uk www.jetblackmini.co.uk
Dad's Building K1100 : bmw.16vmini.co.uk , donate to club running costs : paypal@16vminiclub.com
MattG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 06:36 PM   #2
gadget555
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Strichen Aberdeenshire
Posts: 1,346
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1800
Make: Rover
ECU: K maps 160 Race
Default

I think Dan's got some Auto meter ones in his car but can't find any photos of them after the photo bucket debacle last year.
gadget555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 07:23 PM   #3
InstantCustard
Senior Member
 
InstantCustard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitworth, Lancashire
Posts: 5,931
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

Got SpeedHut gauges from the states, you can design your own, plenty of choice and they’re very good quality.
https://www.speedhut.com/?_vsrefdom=...SAAEgL8ZfD_BwE


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnard View Post
couldnt be bothered to stretch that far to pull it out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardonfast View Post
Haz obviously don't like custard , my Mrs spits it out to!
I love it
InstantCustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 07:26 PM   #4
InstantCustard
Senior Member
 
InstantCustard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitworth, Lancashire
Posts: 5,931
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnard View Post
couldnt be bothered to stretch that far to pull it out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardonfast View Post
Haz obviously don't like custard , my Mrs spits it out to!
I love it
InstantCustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 04:24 AM   #5
PaulW
Senior Member
 
PaulW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: west yorkshire
Posts: 3,853
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1800cc
Make: Other
ECU: Megasquirt MX5 Pnp
Default

I think Matt is after something like this?
http://www.etbinstruments.com/

This is the one i will be going for in Stella eventually
PaulW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 08:26 AM   #6
Oz
Senior Member
 
Oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Posts: 4,279
Subframe: Other
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: DTA
Default

I think a few people use an app and a tablet/smartphone
__________________
New subframe fitting has begun - slowly

Build Thread - Standard Round Nose B series AWD build using MGF subframes has begun
Oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 09:49 AM   #7
edk83
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 592
Default

You could use a tablet but the boot up would be very annoying and there are digital dash rules like on power up the speed should be shown by default.

I've got an Acewell dash that I bought used for £100, should be within budget
edk83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 09:54 AM   #8
edk83
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 592
Default

Has all the other dash lights built in too

edk83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 02:33 PM   #9
Haz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southport
Posts: 141
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1600
Make: Honda
ECU: Standard
Default

I have the acewell dash too, same as above. It's OK but the magnet speed sensor is forever letting go sending a magnet flying around the bay... Previous owner hasn't set up the tachometer correctly either, reads 9k rpm before vtec not a slight on the kit by any means. I'd just suggest that the speedometer could be better, maybe consider running a standalone analogue one?
Haz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 04:19 PM   #10
edk83
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 592
Default

Ha yeah I've 2 pack glued the magnet to the driveshaft, it does work fine but could come off I suppose.

Acewell do offer different speedo pickup attachments so you could adapt it to a pg1 cable drive.

My rev counter is right
edk83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 04:58 PM   #11
Oz
Senior Member
 
Oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Posts: 4,279
Subframe: Other
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: DTA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edk83 View Post
Ha yeah I've 2 pack glued the magnet to the driveshaft, it does work fine but could come off I suppose.
I did this on mine with Araldite but what I found when I pulled the engine out of my car was that the magnet had (albeit over a period of 10 years) rusted away to almost nothing
__________________
New subframe fitting has begun - slowly

Build Thread - Standard Round Nose B series AWD build using MGF subframes has begun
Oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 05:18 PM   #12
arterz
Senior Member
 
arterz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Greece [GR]
Posts: 295
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1600
Make: Honda
ECU: OBD0
Send a message via MSN to arterz
Default

I use acewell 3252 for a few years now with very good results, I'm very happy with it.
For speed sensor signal I used the original VSS from honda. It has very accurate readings from this sensor. Also I have custom made fuel tank and use an old fuel sender from HiAce Toyota Van iirc, 0-130 ohm resistance,, acewell uses 0-100, I simply adjusted the fuel sender from the pivot arm and have very good results too.
__________________
mitsos mini 16v
arterz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 05:30 PM   #13
edk83
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 592
Default

Yeah they do have other speedo option available

At least magnets are easy to replace though and if it says on 10 years I'm happy

My model of Acewell has a programable range for the fuel sender so can be used with pretty much anything
edk83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 06:07 PM   #14
arterz
Senior Member
 
arterz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Greece [GR]
Posts: 295
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1600
Make: Honda
ECU: OBD0
Send a message via MSN to arterz
Default

My second acewell setup had a small failure, my friend's Golf mk2 has acewell dash too, and we use the acewell reed speed sensor with the magnet but it fails at 65 to 95 kmh, when it comes at those kilometeres the readings goes crazy and after 95 km become normaly again, it's very annoying, I don't know what else to do, I tried many diferent ways to mount the sensor!

sorry if I'm off topic
__________________
mitsos mini 16v
arterz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 07:54 PM   #15
Muffyvaux
Senior Member
 
Muffyvaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northampton
Posts: 975
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 1998
Make: Vauxhall
ECU: Megasquirt
Default

Dash 2 pro or the new aim tft screen dashs. Both can be can bus controlled by your ecu. Also linked to GPS data logging etc
Muffyvaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.