16v Mini Club Forums  

Go Back   16v Mini Club Forums > General Public Area > Honda Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2017, 11:34 AM   #1
Lukec145
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 8
Default B16a1

Hi, just bought myself a b16A1. Itís basically a bare block. I didnít get a distributor or an ecu or a loom. Whatís ecu and loom does everyone recommend? Also what gearbox will be best to use with the a1 and an allspeed subframe?
Lukec145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 01:35 PM   #2
30 mm
Senior Member
 
30 mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 192
Subframe: MTB
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: square case
Default

Hi Luke,

I too have a first Gen B16a. In the next couple of months Ill be using the Minitec loom on my B16. This means some of the OBD0 parts will change to OBD1 such as the Distributor and alternator. I believe the OBD1 is employed because of its mapping options are greater then if it were OBD2 compliant. I may be incorrect here.

For my gear box I just pick up an old cable transmission with a 4.266 Final drive. Because I live in Canada and I want to drive long distances I want 5th gear to be as low revs as possible.

Im using a MTB2 chassis from minitec so I can not speak for the allspeed equipment.

Good luck!

30
__________________
30mm
30 mm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 07:45 PM   #3
Lukec145
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 8
Default

Do you know if that is all that has to be changed for changing from obd0-obd1? Are you using the minitec dash as well or what are you going to use for a dash?
Lukec145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2017, 03:04 PM   #4
30 mm
Senior Member
 
30 mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 192
Subframe: MTB
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: square case
Default

Hi Luke,

Im actually waiting to hear back from Minitec right now on that. I read that some OBD0 mates with OBD1 but im waiting on that.

I will not use the MINITEC dash cause I want two fuel tanks in the rear for long distance drives and so my gauges need to be different. I just got word last week that they will mate with any gauges which is news to me.

Im not decided on the dash yet. March time frame is when Ill pull the pin right now.

30
__________________
30mm
30 mm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2017, 07:56 PM   #5
Lukec145
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 8
Default

Let me know how you get on. I’m desperate to get my engine stripped and parts ordered but I’ve got no cash right now. It’s gutting.
Lukec145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2017, 09:30 PM   #6
mikko
Senior Member
 
mikko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 720
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1600
Make: Honda
ECU: obd0
Default

ive a chipped and socketed obd0 ecu i could sell, can be mapped with free software with datalogging etc. distributor here too.
__________________
http://www.16vminiclub.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=19251

Not your typical heated leather seated track day car but it does have heated leather!
mikko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2017, 06:43 AM   #7
Lukec145
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for the offer but I’m sort of just planning running a standard map at the minute so looking for a stock ecu. Thanks though.
Lukec145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2017, 09:35 PM   #8
mikko
Senior Member
 
mikko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 720
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1600
Make: Honda
ECU: obd0
Default

i can put a standard map on it, then you can tweek vtec crossover, do launch control and datalog etc. if you wish, oh and disable vss for vtec engagement without the need for honda guages
__________________
http://www.16vminiclub.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=19251

Not your typical heated leather seated track day car but it does have heated leather!
mikko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2017, 06:16 AM   #9
30 mm
Senior Member
 
30 mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 192
Subframe: MTB
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: square case
Default

Hey Luke,

Guys at minitec confirmed the loom is all OBD1 through to the ECU. I am new to this game but there are also OBD2 to OBD1 coversion cables out there. Hope that helps a bit.

Im away from home for another month or so. I wont be buying the harness until first week of Jan and hopefully have a bench run done by mid Jan before attempting to fit the engine under the bonnet.

30
__________________
30mm
30 mm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.