Go Back   16v Mini Club Forums > Builds > Honda Builds

Old 04-10-2016, 12:04 PM   #1
jondrane

Subframe: Watson
CC: 1600
Make: Honda
ECU: DTA
Default AWD B16 build

My name is Jon and I am an aircraft engineer based in Portsmouth, I have been building my AWD project on and off for the last 5 years. I say on and off as during this time I have done some traveling with work which stopped the project. I will start my build diary at the beginning.

I first purchased my mini in 2000 and it was a standard Mini Mayfair in Caribbean Blue with a 1275 A series. I fitted this will all the standard mini bits, roller rockers, LCB, etc but the 1275 was a bit tired. In late 2002 I purchased a 1293 stage 2 kit from mini speed and did my first engine build, I paired this with a 45 Weber and the car was now running well and pushing a massive 95Bhp!!!
The issues with the above setup was that it was unreliable in the wet like most minis, it was great when going fast but a pig in traffic and the fuel economy was dreadful.

At the end of my collage year I decided that I would do a VTEC conversion over the summer of 2004. I paid a visit to Geoff Watsons workshop in Wakefield, and he was in the process of building his white space frame rally car and it looked amazing. I looked at another customer car that he was working on and saw the body modifications that were required, and decided that is was something I could achieve.

I purchased the Watsons kit and spent 2 months working around my Job to get it fitted.

I encountered all the issues which are now common knowledge on the forum like wiring manufacture, alternator brackets, inlet manifolds and gear linkage modification. There was a lot less VTEC minis on the road then and one of the main builders on the forum was Tony Wells. I can remember organizing to meet up with Tony at Shakespeare county drag strip and look at his car, which was a great help as I was half way through my build.