16v Mini Club Forums  

Go Back   16v Mini Club Forums > General Public Area > Honda Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20-04-2012, 04:15 AM   #1
dredpyrt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Orange CA
Posts: 5
Default Prefabed VTEC wiring harness?

I was wondering if anybody out there builds or knows of a plug and play engine wiring harness for a VTEC Mini. Ive done a search but the posts i ran across are a bit old. I dont really fear wiring but if i can find something already done im hoping it will shorten my build time. Thanks!
dredpyrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2012, 09:02 AM   #2
eeae6000
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 190
Default

Mini tec does
eeae6000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2012, 01:27 PM   #3
Thetoolman
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NZ
Posts: 59
Subframe: MTB
CC: 1798
Make: Honda
ECU: Standard
Default

It will shorten your build time, my loom is 80% finished and I have spent 30+ hours on my loom so far ...
Thetoolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 12:31 AM   #4
dredpyrt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Orange CA
Posts: 5
Default harness

Ive seen there harness but i also noticed in some older posts that it left alot to be desired in the quality department.
dredpyrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 01:19 AM   #5
Furyof4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 172
Make: Honda
ECU: Neptune FTW
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dredpyrt View Post
Ive seen there harness but i also noticed in some older posts that it left alot to be desired in the quality department.
I think that could be said about most of their products.
Furyof4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 10:45 PM   #6
p1ngu32
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NE Scotland
Posts: 26
Default

The minitec loom is actually very good, but i wouldn't bother with their ecu the base map they put on causes running issues.
p1ngu32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:04 AM   #7
dredpyrt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Orange CA
Posts: 5
Default wiring harness

I noticed in Minitecs Ebay add for the loom that it was nicely labeled. As far as the ECU goes the price tag alone has me exploring other options.
dredpyrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 10:34 PM   #8
Furyof4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 172
Make: Honda
ECU: Neptune FTW
Default

I have heard plenty of complaints of its quality, especially for the price. Their ecu's are a way overpriced also considering any reputable honda tuner could make a better basemap for less.
Furyof4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 10:50 PM   #9
p1ngu32
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NE Scotland
Posts: 26
Default

Ive been running that loom for 3 years without the slightest issue, mine seems well made. Yes they are pricey, but its alot easier and loads of manhours quicker than stripping back a loom. Depending on your wiring abilities its probably 100% better than a bodged up stock loom.
p1ngu32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.