16v Mini Club Forums  

Go Back   16v Mini Club Forums > General Public Area > General 16v Mini Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2017, 05:53 PM   #1
monkey
Senior Member
 
monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London
Posts: 892
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 1600
Make: Honda
ECU: A box of chips
Default Using MPI wiring loom

Hey guys,

I picked up a whole MPI loom for my build. Thinking it'd be good with the modern fuses etc.

I'm just wondering if anyone has successful used one for a 16v build? I understand the engine loom is easily separated but how about the wiring for the ECU/MEMS and standard immobiliser?

Can this all be stripped out without too much problem or is it all weirdly wired together to work specifically with the mpi ecu etc? Any pointers?

Cheers

Monkey
__________________
An expert is someone who tells you why you can't do something- Alec Issigonis
monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 07:14 AM   #2
gazwad
Senior Member
 
gazwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: northampton
Posts: 1,994
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1796
Make: Rover
ECU: standard
Default

I've done a few k series looms using the mpi loom as a base, they are ideal for this as the k series ecu uses the same immobiliser etc so it keeps it simple. The immobiliser is coded to the ecu, the ecu requires a coded signal from the immobiliser to work, the immobiliser also cuts off the starter motor circuit. If you are using a stand alone ecu (or honda etc) they then you can ignore the coded signal from the immobiliser, then you could either keep the starter circuit as is with the immobiliser still controlling it or its pretty simple to bypass so you can bin the immobiliser all together. Mpi loom is a good choice as it uses modern fuses and relays and already has circuits for fuel pumps, cut-offs, rad fans etc.
gazwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 04:31 PM   #3
monkey
Senior Member
 
monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London
Posts: 892
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 1600
Make: Honda
ECU: A box of chips
Default

Awesome thanks! Do you know how to bypass the immobiliser circuit? I donít have the immobiliser module, I assume thereís a way to do it with the wiring?

If I was to get the immobiliser module, is there a way to make it work without the W I retaining a fob or is it too much bother?

Cheers
__________________
An expert is someone who tells you why you can't do something- Alec Issigonis
monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 08:08 AM   #4
gazwad
Senior Member
 
gazwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: northampton
Posts: 1,994
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1796
Make: Rover
ECU: standard
Default

pm sent
gazwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.