16v Mini Club Forums  

Go Back   16v Mini Club Forums > Builds > Rover Builds

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-10-2014, 09:48 PM   #1786
wilp99
Senior Member
 
wilp99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: TAMPA
Posts: 2,763
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 1797
Make: Honda
ECU: S300
Default

what are the original injectors for the ecu? high or low impedance? if the original ones for that ecu are low you will need resistors...also, if they are different than stock and the correct resistance you need to change the dead times in the map or it will run like doodoo.
__________________
Tampa, Florida... Wilson Motor Works.. WMW4LIFE
wilp99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2014, 11:25 PM   #1787
InstantCustard
Senior Member
 
InstantCustard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitworth, Lancashire
Posts: 5,833
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

The original injectors are high impedance too, I've put those back in to cancel out the bigger injectors as bring the problem.
Been having a poke around this afternoon, checking earth's and everything, starts with a squirt of easy start!
Ordered a Power Probe 3 and I'm going to go through the plug and play loom, that's the only other possible thing I can think of after Emerald telling me the ECU is fine.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnard View Post
couldnt be bothered to stretch that far to pull it out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardonfast View Post
Haz obviously don't like custard , my Mrs spits it out to!
I love it
InstantCustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2014, 07:12 AM   #1788
PaulW
Senior Member
 
PaulW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: west yorkshire
Posts: 3,847
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1800cc
Make: Other
ECU: Megasquirt MX5 Pnp
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InstantCustard View Post
The original injectors are high impedance too, I've put those back in to cancel out the bigger injectors as bring the problem.
Been having a poke around this afternoon, checking earth's and everything, starts with a squirt of easy start!
Ordered a Power Probe 3 and I'm going to go through the plug and play loom, that's the only other possible thing I can think of after Emerald telling me the ECU is fine.
just be really careful with the power probe tester. If you stick power down the wrong circuit your ECU will be toast Nice bit of kit though, you can lend it to me next year, even better now your within driving distance

Paul
PaulW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2014, 08:41 AM   #1789
InstantCustard
Senior Member
 
InstantCustard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitworth, Lancashire
Posts: 5,833
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

I'm going to disconnect it from both ends and put power down each pin with my volt meter at the other end.
My mate Andy had one when I was in Surrey and it was ideal for fault finding and testing.
Your welcome to borrow it anytime.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnard View Post
couldnt be bothered to stretch that far to pull it out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardonfast View Post
Haz obviously don't like custard , my Mrs spits it out to!
I love it
InstantCustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2014, 08:49 AM   #1790
apbellamy
Senior Member
 
apbellamy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Posts: 1,996
ECU: SC Typhoon
Default

You can check continuity with a multimeter. Dead easy.
__________________
A closed mouth gathers no foot.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardonfast View Post
seat mounting should not be taken lightly, nor should a rat trying to get up your trouser leg doing 50,m,p,h, all of a suden your nUts become more important,
apbellamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2014, 09:10 AM   #1791
InstantCustard
Senior Member
 
InstantCustard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitworth, Lancashire
Posts: 5,833
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

Not mine, I've got some automatic thing that's a pain in the ass.
http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/item....roup_ID=675530
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnard View Post
couldnt be bothered to stretch that far to pull it out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardonfast View Post
Haz obviously don't like custard , my Mrs spits it out to!
I love it
InstantCustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2014, 10:06 AM   #1792
raider16v
Senior Member
 
raider16v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: notts
Posts: 362
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: s300
Default

Wilson may be on to something with the dead times? I had to change mine when I went from RC550cc to ID1000cc Just a thought!!!

Hope you get it sorted

Take it easy

Mark.
__________________
b16a turbo clubman build
raider16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2014, 10:41 PM   #1793
speedy
Senior Member
 
speedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: marknesse netherlands
Posts: 579
Subframe: Home Made
Make: Suzuki
ECU: standard,for now
Default

is the earth okay?
if the injectors are switched negative, or are they positive switched?
__________________
new engine is done...
speedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2014, 05:46 AM   #1794
InstantCustard
Senior Member
 
InstantCustard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitworth, Lancashire
Posts: 5,833
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

Earth is fine, double checked it already.
Injectors are switched negative, I have 12v at the injectors but until my noid light arrives I can't check for the switched earth.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnard View Post
couldnt be bothered to stretch that far to pull it out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardonfast View Post
Haz obviously don't like custard , my Mrs spits it out to!
I love it
InstantCustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 01:05 PM   #1795
InstantCustard
Senior Member
 
InstantCustard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitworth, Lancashire
Posts: 5,833
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

Making a bit of progress, I'm using my old MEMS and the cream injectors for testing as i get a signal from the MEMS for testing.
Noid light on 4 is bright and by the time I get down to 1, I get nothing, 3 and 2 get progressively worse.
Thinking it's my injector loom at fault
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnard View Post
couldnt be bothered to stretch that far to pull it out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardonfast View Post
Haz obviously don't like custard , my Mrs spits it out to!
I love it
InstantCustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 03:13 PM   #1796
minidarren83
Senior Member
 
minidarren83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Essex
Posts: 531
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1800
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

Have you power tested the loom yet? Also have you had a light on the output of the k6 ecu for the injectors? If so does it flash when the engine is cranked test all four directly at the ecu output you could try read the voltage but I'm assuming it will be difficult to get a reading with it constantly flicking on off unless you have a tester that record peak voltage/amps ect. If you get a reading you are expecting from the ecu signal output when cranking then it can only be a disconnect between the ecu and injectors. You could also power test your earth circuit if you know what your doing. Sorry if you have done all of this just thought if throw in my bit
minidarren83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 03:15 PM   #1797
minidarren83
Senior Member
 
minidarren83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Essex
Posts: 531
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1800
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

Also what did the injectors come from is there a possibility the are looking for a different voltage that the k6 and mems is giving out?
minidarren83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 03:56 PM   #1798
InstantCustard
Senior Member
 
InstantCustard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitworth, Lancashire
Posts: 5,833
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

I haven't bothered testing the K6 for injectors as it's been back to Emerald and come back with a clean bill of health.
The injectors work on a switched earth signal that I can't easily measure without an oscilloscope, I'm currently using the Rover cream injectors I was running on before until I get it running again and trying the SAAB injectors again.
I assumed the SAAB injectors killed the drivers in my K6, but Emerald tell me it shouldn't have any problems running 12ohms and tested this whilst they had the ECU back.
The K6 must work differently though if the problem is with the injector loom as I get absolutely nothing on the noid light with the K6 and I'm obviously getting some strange results with the MEMS.
I do have to power test the plug and play loom still, if that's fine then its I'll change the injector loom, shame I haven't got a spare, would've taken seconds to switch over!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnard View Post
couldnt be bothered to stretch that far to pull it out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardonfast View Post
Haz obviously don't like custard , my Mrs spits it out to!
I love it
InstantCustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 04:53 PM   #1799
minidarren83
Senior Member
 
minidarren83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Essex
Posts: 531
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1800
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

I wouldn't be surprised if when they had the k6 back they fixed something and maybe upgraded the drivers to save face and reputation. I have read somewhere that the k series did suffer from engine bay wiring issues is there no way you could get the noid plugged directly to the ecu output pins to rule out the loom and also verify the k6 does work. Also have you disconnected the inj loom and put power down it or even a continuity test
minidarren83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 04:55 PM   #1800
gadget555
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Strichen Aberdeenshire
Posts: 1,316
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1800
Make: Rover
ECU: K maps 160 Race
Default

I have a spare injector loom off a 143 mems 1.9 If you would like to try it I'll put it in the post, It's the one with the small yellow connector with 5 pins in it.

gadget.
gadget555 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.