16v Mini Club Forums  

Go Back   16v Mini Club Forums > General Public Area > Non 16v Mini Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31-03-2019, 09:41 PM   #1
cooper_mark
Senior Member
 
cooper_mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: birmingham
Posts: 4,193
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1998
Make: Vauxhall
ECU: standard
Default mig welder help

DRAPER 1502T
this is on min setting 1 wire speed 6

When I just pull the trigger (no arc), the wire feeds smoothly and correctly... but as soon as I start welding I can hear the motor pulsing, and the wire feed gets jerky. during the "jerky" part, it is nearly impossible to get a good arc going ....
Each time I would check the tip, etc.... and the wire would feed fine so long as I was feeding in open air... that again, if I was welding, it would slow again

if i turn the power setting from min to max it will weld fine on thicker metal

It is as though it isn't getting enough voltage (starving while arcing).... or something.... I haven't cracked it open yet, but I was hoping someone has experienced this and can give me some good direction.
__________________
Think Twice Before Passing This Mini.....It Could Make U Look F**k**g Silly.....

my beast
cooper_mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 09:04 AM   #2
pompeyal
Senior Member
 
pompeyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Portchester
Posts: 476
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 1600
Make: Honda
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cooper_mark View Post
DRAPER 1502T
this is on min setting 1 wire speed 6

When I just pull the trigger (no arc), the wire feeds smoothly and correctly... but as soon as I start welding I can hear the motor pulsing, and the wire feed gets jerky. during the "jerky" part, it is nearly impossible to get a good arc going ....
Each time I would check the tip, etc.... and the wire would feed fine so long as I was feeding in open air... that again, if I was welding, it would slow again

if i turn the power setting from min to max it will weld fine on thicker metal

It is as though it isn't getting enough voltage (starving while arcing).... or something.... I haven't cracked it open yet, but I was hoping someone has experienced this and can give me some good direction.
Maybe the earth is not clean enough.
pompeyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 12:36 PM   #3
ardonfast
Senior Member
 
ardonfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: dunkeswell airfeald devon
Posts: 7,887
Subframe: AMT
CC: 2000
Make: Vauxhall
ECU: dizzy/webers
Default

Probably the wire has got damp , it messes it up but you can hardly see it on the wire , risk it and buy a new spool ,
__________________
"yuck ,more like a 3 r2"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=tb261HwQNDQ
SAY WHAT YOU BELEVE,,BELEVE WHAT YOU LIKE,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=3JhaTwP7uuk
ardonfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 01:37 PM   #4
cooper_mark
Senior Member
 
cooper_mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: birmingham
Posts: 4,193
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1998
Make: Vauxhall
ECU: standard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pompeyal View Post
Maybe the earth is not clean enough.
Cleaned the metal with grinder and earth is a clamp
__________________
Think Twice Before Passing This Mini.....It Could Make U Look F**k**g Silly.....

my beast
cooper_mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 01:38 PM   #5
cooper_mark
Senior Member
 
cooper_mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: birmingham
Posts: 4,193
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1998
Make: Vauxhall
ECU: standard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ardonfast View Post
Probably the wire has got damp , it messes it up but you can hardly see it on the wire , risk it and buy a new spool ,
Tryed a brand new spoil of wire still the same
__________________
Think Twice Before Passing This Mini.....It Could Make U Look F**k**g Silly.....

my beast
cooper_mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 01:50 PM   #6
Oz
Senior Member
 
Oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Posts: 4,502
Subframe: Other
CC: 1595
Make: Honda
ECU: DTA
Default

Is the wire feeder tube twisted when you go to weld ? I was told to keep it as straight as possible so the wire feeds through smoothly.

Is your wire speed too slow ? If it's too slow it will melt too far up the weld wire and then stop arching, more will feed and it will arc again. You can usually feel it at the trigger as like a pulsing.
Oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 04:05 PM   #7
bobjonah
Senior Member
 
bobjonah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Moncton, NB , Canada
Posts: 406
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1298
Make: Suzuki
ECU: standard
Default

Some of the cheaper wire on the market over here are not consistant, and low wire speed welding is difficult. if you have brand X wire, try a good brand name wire.
bobjonah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 08:48 AM   #8
evolotion
Senior Member
 
evolotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Glasgow. Posts:17,498
Posts: 6,125
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1400
Make: Rover
ECU: Megasquirt
Default

check your liner and replace the tip, at lower speeds the spool motor has less torque to overcome issues in the torch. when striking an arc the wire will microweld(for want of a better phrase) to whatever passes the welding currency to it, usually the tip and sometimes steel liner if present) and it'll cause stiction only under use. liner and tips are consumable so never hurts to change them!

I modded my Clarke welder with an extra transformer, bridge rectifier, relay and gas valve so the wire feed had a completely independent power supply as the usually have the wire feed wired in series with the welding transformer iirc and as the arc is struck the voltage across the wire feed decreases so you have a little pull back. resulting in you setting the wire feed higher than you'd like for most jobs. that doesn't sound like your issue, bit you may want to investigate it regardless. it was a good modificatiin and may or may not be worthwhile on your machine.
__________________
11.9@118 :)

Denis.
evolotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 05:39 PM   #9
mm man
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 224
Default

If you or anyone else does have a wire issue for a non gas set up I can’t recommend this wire enough it transformed both of my machines.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Proweltek-G...fsclp_pl_dp_15
mm man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 11:23 AM   #10
Wezg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1
CC: 2000
Make: Other
ECU: None yet Still planning
Default

Is the wire tension wheel tight enough..? Free wheeling its ok but soon as it hits any tension the wheel slips..? Or have the Wheels worn enough that they cant grip..
Is the new tip the correct size?. 1.2 on 0.6 wire does not arc well..
Is the liner clear enough not snagging or tight..



Sent from my HTC U12 life using Tapatalk
Wezg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 09:28 PM   #11
Marcus Nordblom
Senior Member
 
Marcus Nordblom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Playboy mansion
Posts: 2,453
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: 1298
Make: Suzuki
ECU: 40mm mikuni rs
Send a message via MSN to Marcus Nordblom
Default

I bought a new hose package or what you call it, transformed my old welder.
Similar problems on low settings, spitting and general pineapplepy welds thicker material ok

Best 40 ever spent
Marcus Nordblom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.