16v Mini Club Forums  

Go Back   16v Mini Club Forums > General Public Area > Rover Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2017, 10:50 AM   #1
gandolf
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: north cornwall
Posts: 102
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1600
Make: Rover
ECU: standard ECU
Send a message via Yahoo to gandolf
Default rechipping

can the 1600 be rechipped and what benifit would this bring or the down side if any.
gandolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 01:44 PM   #2
AGoaty
Senior Member
 
AGoaty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keighley, West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,770
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1796
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

I don't remember seeing which ECU you are using but provided it's the MEMS 3 (Motorola) type then this can be remapped.

Kmaps is the most commonly used company for these engines. Loads of people used and recommended them.

Visit www.kmaps.co.uk for more information.
__________________
If tha does owt fo nowt, olas do it fo this 'en.
AGoaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 08:22 AM   #3
gadget555
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Strichen Aberdeenshire
Posts: 1,287
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1800
Make: Rover
ECU: K maps 160 Race
Default

Nice sales pitch! how much commission did you get for that ?
gadget555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 10:08 AM   #4
AGoaty
Senior Member
 
AGoaty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keighley, West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,770
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1796
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gadget555 View Post
Nice sales pitch! how much commission did you get for that ?
Ha ha. I am planning to use them myself.

I have also contacted at least 3 other companies who do this kind of work who say it's probably best going direct to Kmaps. When you are in direct competition with someone and end up recommending the original company, I think that says something for them.

Just for the record, also try these.

https://www.sawstuning.co.uk/

http://www.jctuning.co.uk/

Sorry cannot remember the others.

The thing is mine is a turbo engine. They don't have a base map for this so Kmaps have a tried and tested setup used by quite a few people on here.

You may be able to get a local remapping company to do this provided they have the correct leads and software. If your engine is close to standard, (but reading the part of your "about you" says you are running carbs) not sure what you are wanting to gain. Surely the ECU is only controlling the spark if that's the case.
__________________
If tha does owt fo nowt, olas do it fo this 'en.
AGoaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.