16v Mini Club Forums  

Go Back   16v Mini Club Forums > General Public Area > Rover Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2017, 11:08 AM   #1
gadget555
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Strichen Aberdeenshire
Posts: 948
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1800
Make: Rover
ECU: K maps 160 Race
Default ECU mounting position?

Where have people mounted their ECU's? in the engine bay or inside the car? I would like to try and mount mine inside the car but the wiring is just that little bit too short to enable me to do it without pulling on the some of the wiring or plugs. Mine is Mems 3 out of a MG TF I had thought about putting in a body bulkhead plug and extending the wires but when I counted the wires up they totaled about 60 from the 2 plugs on the ECU, any advice or pictures will be greatly received cheers in advance.

Gadget.
gadget555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 12:04 PM   #2
AGoaty
Senior Member
 
AGoaty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keighley, West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,349
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1796
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

You can see mine in this pic, bolted to the bulkhead on a custom bracket. Had no issues with it there.



It perhaps would look tidier if you could get it under the inlet manifold in the gap between the subframe and box section on the bulkhead as it would be out of sight.

In the car it has come from it will of been in the engine bay. What are your reasons for wanting it in the cabin?
__________________
If tha does owt fo nowt, olas do it fo this 'en.
AGoaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 12:17 PM   #3
Chris16v
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 354
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8 t
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

I have all of mine behind the dash after much wiring loom work, mainly done it like this to keep the engine bay tidy

Would also like to move the wiper motor inside

Last edited by Chris16v; 10-08-2017 at 12:19 PM.
Chris16v is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 12:45 PM   #4
InstantCustard
Senior Member
 
InstantCustard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitworth, Lancashire
Posts: 5,156
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

Mine is screwed to the bulkhead under the dash on the passenger side, it was mounted under the dash shelf but I moved it so I could easily plug into it.
No extensions needed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnard View Post
couldnt be bothered to stretch that far to pull it out.
InstantCustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 02:45 PM   #5
gazwad
Senior Member
 
gazwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: northampton
Posts: 1,649
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1796
Make: Rover
ECU: standard
Default

the standard loom should allow the ecu to sit on the inside face of the bulkhead under the parcel shelf on the passenger side but you will have to cut/drill a large hole (use a big grommet) here so the wiring has a straight path through.
gazwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 05:24 PM   #6
gadget555
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Strichen Aberdeenshire
Posts: 948
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1800
Make: Rover
ECU: K maps 160 Race
Default

I just wanted to tidy the engine bay up a bit, my engine and wiring came from a tf and after looking through various pictures of zr and tf engine bays it appears that the tf ecu is mounted closer to the engine than compared to the zr which it's mounted on the inner wing behind the n/s headlight. Dose anyone have a zr 160 wiring loom going cheap
gadget555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 05:26 PM   #7
gazwad
Senior Member
 
gazwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: northampton
Posts: 1,649
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1796
Make: Rover
ECU: standard
Default

ah yeah the tf loom is slightly different
gazwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 08:46 PM   #8
edk83
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 352
Default

I have a spare 160 engine loom minus the injector sub loom if needed.

Is the IAT sensor on the lower inlet blanked off on yours? I'm thinking it would be.
edk83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 09:06 AM   #9
gadget555
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Strichen Aberdeenshire
Posts: 948
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1800
Make: Rover
ECU: K maps 160 Race
Default

After checking yes it is, the engine and part loom is out of an 03 plate TF 160 so it has the combined IAT and MAP sensor in the end oft the inlet plenum. EDK83 how much would you be wanting for the engine loom posted to Aberdeen?
gadget555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 11:04 AM   #10
edk83
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 352
Default

Cool I think all mems3 engines have the combined sensor at the top but the 2001/2002 cars had a sensor in the inlet as well, the older looms have a 2 pin plug that goes to that sensor and the yellow / white wire goes to the sensor pin on the ecu. The older looms don't have this yellow / white wire in the engine loom to injector subloom big plug, its blanked.

I learnt this when I had to connect the yellow / white from the 2 pin plug to the same coloured wire on the injector side of the subloom plug. (For some odd reason I used the 2001 loom rather than the 2003 one that came with the engine).

The spare loom I have is from that 2003 engine though and does have the wire in the subloom plug so fine for you

Looking on ebay standard non vvc engine looms seem to be about 25 plus postage but can't see any 160 ones.

Going on that I'd say 25 posted would be fair?

Feel free to PM me
edk83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.