16v Mini Club Forums  

Go Back   16v Mini Club Forums > Classifieds > For Sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24-05-2011, 02:16 PM   #91
nerdymind
Senior Member
 
nerdymind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Saudi arabia
Posts: 856
Subframe: Allspeed
CC: B16
Make: Honda
ECU: standard
Default

hi mate,

i need one for mini..how much and postage would be to berkshire..

thnx
__________________
Thank you
Ayman
nerdymind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2011, 11:26 PM   #92
Spiyda
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdymind View Post
hi mate,

i need one for mini..how much and postage would be to berkshire..

thnx

Ayman.

all the gauges and converters etc. are on my website

www.spiyda.com post is calculated on the value of the goods.

I can post to berkshire or direct to you..

but before you go buying one of the LED gauges.. what other instruments are you fitting to the car ? Maybe I have a better solution....

I am just finishing the prototype for another device that makes any sender work with posh looking digital guages that normally work on 500 Ohm senders only.
__________________
Nothing is so simple it can't be made more complicated

www.spiyda.com www.screwbank.com
Spiyda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2011, 12:45 PM   #93
Phaeton
Senior Member
 
Phaeton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just outside Worksop
Posts: 610
Default

Was just about to buy the 2 fan controller & see that each circuit can handle 30A each. I have 2x motorbike fans on the radiator but no idea how much current they take, multimeter will only handle 10A so do you know how I can make sure they are not more than 30A. I did think of putting individual 20A fuses in each fan circuit.

Sorry also is it trimmable? as to when the fans come on & go off?

Alan...

Last edited by Phaeton; 25-05-2011 at 12:55 PM.
Phaeton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2011, 01:12 PM   #94
Spiyda
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phaeton View Post
Was just about to buy the 2 fan controller & see that each circuit can handle 30A each. I have 2x motorbike fans on the radiator but no idea how much current they take, multimeter will only handle 10A so do you know how I can make sure they are not more than 30A. I did think of putting individual 20A fuses in each fan circuit.

Sorry also is it trimmable? as to when the fans come on & go off?

Alan...
Alan,

Unless you have a hovercraft, the relay will handle the fans OK !

Seriously though.. I've not seen any that are more than 15A

re the trimming, yes, there are two trimmers on the board that individually set the temperature that the fans come on at.. they go off when the temperature goes down again.. they can be set pretty much anywhere and can work off your existing temperature sender, but to be honest if I was wiring them in, I would use a different sender to the one connected to the ECU (although they can be connected this way)

for example..

you could set one fan to come on at 95 degrees, and the other to come on at 105 degress.. then depending on your system, most of the time the second fan would never come on... saving a bit of battery power...

you can easily put an override switch on so that they were on all the time, or both come on at 95..

Chris
__________________
Nothing is so simple it can't be made more complicated

www.spiyda.com www.screwbank.com
Spiyda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2011, 01:32 PM   #95
Phaeton
Senior Member
 
Phaeton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just outside Worksop
Posts: 610
Default

Chris,

Nope not a hovercraft just the beasty in the avatar. Ordered one, so if possible before the weekend would be good so I can install it, need to somehow get a sender into the circuit as currently there isn't one.

Alan...
Phaeton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2011, 01:49 PM   #96
Spiyda
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phaeton View Post
Chris,

Nope not a hovercraft just the beasty in the avatar. Ordered one, so if possible before the weekend would be good so I can install it, need to somehow get a sender into the circuit as currently there isn't one.

Alan...
PM'd

ps if you are putting a new sender in, a good spot is the outlet pipe from the rad.... one sender will work both fans...

pps in the post today
__________________
Nothing is so simple it can't be made more complicated

www.spiyda.com www.screwbank.com

Last edited by Spiyda; 25-05-2011 at 04:29 PM.
Spiyda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 03:10 PM   #97
Spiyda
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,915
Default

Well, Alan asked me if the Dual Fan switch would keep the fans running after the ignition went off... err no ? ummm yes.. after a bit of a think, the new version will allow that..

in short, when the ignition is turned off, if the fans are off, the unit is off end of story..
however, if the ignition is turned off, when one of the fans is ON, the unit will get its power from the fan feed until the fan turns off.. then it will cut the power to the unit..

The reason for all this is to kill any current drain when the fans are off and the ignition is off...

Thanks Alan.. and the parts are in the post !

Chris
__________________
Nothing is so simple it can't be made more complicated

www.spiyda.com www.screwbank.com
Spiyda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 04:29 PM   #98
Phaeton
Senior Member
 
Phaeton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just outside Worksop
Posts: 610
Default

Cheers Chris, the unit arrived today, I've called & picked up a new sensor which as you say I will fit on the pipe leaving the radiator back to the pump/engine. I'll be documenting it for the Freestyle group so will take some pictures, although it will be very Heath Robinson & not pretty like some of the cars on here.

Alan...
Phaeton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2011, 01:00 AM   #99
Spiyda
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,915
Default

I just released a new Fuel Gauge Wizard today. the "Fuel Gauge Wizard 500" This is based on the existing wizard, but modified specifically to work with 500 Ohm digital gauges, such as the KOSO gauges.

It is easier to calibrate, IP65 water resistant, connections are by fly leads instead of terminal blocks, and it can even compensate some for non-linear senders..

same price as the existing wizard and available from the website
__________________
Nothing is so simple it can't be made more complicated

www.spiyda.com www.screwbank.com
Spiyda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2011, 05:48 PM   #100
Brumski
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Warrington, Cheshire
Posts: 1,152
Subframe: MTB
CC: 1800
Make: Honda
ECU: Mini Tec uprated Honda
Default

Just thought I'd let you know that the fuel wizard works a treat from a Van tank sender to the Honda guages...

Needs tweaking to the trims but good so far !!

Cheers buddy !!
Brumski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2011, 02:36 PM   #101
Spiyda
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,915
Default

I'm adding a display option to the LED fuel gauge, temperature gauge and oil pressure gauges.. It will link to the main box of electronics with a ribbon cable

the prototype looks like this..

Eventually I want it to be self - dimming so that it dims itself at night so as not to blind everyone !

One thought was that I could build the Megasquirt 3 stage shift light into the same case...

it would still need the modifications to the megasquirt to make it work, but it would include the basic circuitry as described in the megamanual

anyone interested ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCF1060.jpg (27.9 KB, 13 views)
__________________
Nothing is so simple it can't be made more complicated

www.spiyda.com www.screwbank.com
Spiyda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.