16v Mini Club Forums  

Go Back   16v Mini Club Forums > General Public Area > General 16v Mini Chat > Newbie Forum

Old 03-01-2017, 07:54 PM   #1
ZA-J

Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1796
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default Cheese Grating Mini

Good evening all,

I'm new to the idea of 16 valves after my supercharged 'A' series gearbox decided it'd be a nice idea to act as a cheese grater and strip the teeth off my two of my gears!

I've got a '79 van and am looking around for a more reliable way of getting big horsepower in a Mini.

Hopefully you'll see a bit more of me in the coming months.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Gears.JPG (31.4 KB, 23 views)
ZA-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 10:06 PM   #2
AGoaty

Subframe: Watson

My favourite type of 16 valver!

Just like myself, after a series of smashed Mini gearboxes I converted to double the power and a reliable gearbox.

Rover K series is under rated and cheap way of making a Mini go a lot quicker but still feel like a Mini. Read the "Rover" section.

Out of interest, how many horsepowers was the supercharged A series? What are you aiming to get from the 16v conversion?

What are you expecting to use it for?

You do know that putting a 16v engine in could depreciate it's value.
Old 04-01-2017, 09:12 PM   #3
ZA-J

I've got a friend who's in the process of a K series conversion - it's looking favourite at the minute. Probably the 1.8 160 engine.

Still need to do some more research into final drive, gear linkage, hubs and drive shafts.

(And which engines will fit under a standard roundness - I'm not keen on an extended or clubby front end!)

I use the mini mostly for going to shows - usually drag racing (spectating, not racing - although I'd put it down the strip from time to time) which is a 200 mile round trip. I've taken it to Le mans for the last two years and would plan on dong that again.