16v Mini Club Forums  

Go Back   16v Mini Club Forums > General Public Area > Rover Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2018, 09:43 AM   #1
geachy87
Senior Member
 
geachy87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Campbeltown, Scotland
Posts: 436
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1.8t
Make: Rover
ECU: Kmaps
Default K maps ecu

Going to be running the turbo engine on a k maps ecu with a manual boost controller.

Do I still need a stepspeed ecu or will any mems3 ecu do seen as Iíll be using the manual boost controller?
geachy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 09:55 AM   #2
Readie
Senior Member
 
Readie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 126
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1.8
Make: Rover
ECU: KMAPS TURBO
Default

Any mems3 ecu is fine
Readie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 02:05 PM   #3
geachy87
Senior Member
 
geachy87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Campbeltown, Scotland
Posts: 436
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1.8t
Make: Rover
ECU: Kmaps
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Readie View Post
Any mems3 ecu is fine
Thatís great, cheers

Next question, does anyone have a mems 3 ecu, 5as and preferably two fobs that they donít need before I head to eBay for a look
geachy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2018, 09:12 AM   #4
Readie
Senior Member
 
Readie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 126
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1.8
Make: Rover
ECU: KMAPS TURBO
Default

Kmaps will supply an ECU if you need it although its cheaper to buy one and send it to them. They will also remove the immobiliser at the same time as the remap if you ask saving the need to get a matching ecu and fob
Readie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2018, 11:00 AM   #5
geachy87
Senior Member
 
geachy87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Campbeltown, Scotland
Posts: 436
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1.8t
Make: Rover
ECU: Kmaps
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Readie View Post
Kmaps will supply an ECU if you need it although its cheaper to buy one and send it to them. They will also remove the immobiliser at the same time as the remap if you ask saving the need to get a matching ecu and fob
My cars ignition is toggle switches and a push button start with no key at all so Iím wanting to keep the immobiliser so it has some security. Had a look on eBay and they all seem to have one fob, would rather two so I have a spare
geachy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2018, 12:46 PM   #6
InstantCustard
Senior Member
 
InstantCustard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitworth, Lancashire
Posts: 5,686
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

You can get replacement fobs, some are remanufactured originals and others are universal fobs, only problem is then you need to have them programmed.
I would have the 5AS removed and then look at other immobiliser options, I looked at a keyless starter option that would have replaced the ignition with a push button and a key fob that just needed to be on your person.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnard View Post
couldnt be bothered to stretch that far to pull it out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardonfast View Post
Haz obviously don't like custard , my Mrs spits it out to!
I love it
InstantCustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2018, 03:17 PM   #7
AGoaty
Senior Member
 
AGoaty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keighley, West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,736
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1796
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

Different people and opinions.

I think the Rover immobiliser works well. People who remove it seem to think it solves problems but the truth is, it's a security device and not complicated to get working. The small issues it causes getting set up could prevent your car from being stolen.

I would ask someone breaking an MG for it before they start selling bits. That way you get the best bits.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/MK1-ROVER...oAAOSwZVJaxOeB
__________________
If tha does owt fo nowt, olas do it fo this 'en.

Last edited by AGoaty; 13-04-2018 at 03:50 PM.
AGoaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2018, 05:47 PM   #8
geachy87
Senior Member
 
geachy87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Campbeltown, Scotland
Posts: 436
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1.8t
Make: Rover
ECU: Kmaps
Default

It’s already wired up for the 5as so might as well use it, I’ll keep looking for a decent priced set with two fobs or just get one with one fob if I can’t find any

Edit: just noticed your link Andrew, cheers. Guessing the engine should fire up with the 1.6 ecu before it’s mapped just to check my wiring?

Last edited by geachy87; 13-04-2018 at 05:52 PM.
geachy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2018, 08:27 PM   #9
AGoaty
Senior Member
 
AGoaty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keighley, West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,736
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1796
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

I understand it should start but obviously not run the turbo. I think it runs lean so not advisable for any length of time.

Personally, I would get the remapped ECU done.
__________________
If tha does owt fo nowt, olas do it fo this 'en.
AGoaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2018, 03:10 PM   #10
geachy87
Senior Member
 
geachy87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Campbeltown, Scotland
Posts: 436
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1.8t
Make: Rover
ECU: Kmaps
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AGoaty View Post
I understand it should start but obviously not run the turbo. I think it runs lean so not advisable for any length of time.

Personally, I would get the remapped ECU done.
Yeh, I wouldnít run it long at all, just want to make sure itís going to fire up to check my wiring
geachy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.