16v Mini Club Forums  

Go Back   16v Mini Club Forums > General Public Area > Rover Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2018, 08:05 PM   #1
Broomel
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Somerset
Posts: 42
Default VVC160 starting problem.

Hi, I have just fitted my vvc160 and the modified mems 3 wiring loom into the mini.
With the ecu, 5as and fobs that came with the engine (presumed matched but I have never seen running ) upon selecting ignition the idle air control valve motor clicks as per normal but there is no cranking or fuel pump. The 5as repeatedly clicks in an alarm pattern.

I have tried re-syncing the fobs and new batteries but nothing happens.
Does anyone have any ideas? With the imob armed should it at least start and then cut out?

Thanks.

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk
Broomel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 11:00 PM   #2
AGoaty
Senior Member
 
AGoaty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keighley, West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,825
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1796
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

You say you have tried to sync the fob but how have you done this?
First way is simply press lock 5 times then unlock.
Second is remove fob battery. Press both buttons together 5 times then replace battery.

Have you done both ways?
__________________
If tha does owt fo nowt, olas do it fo this 'en.
AGoaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 08:07 PM   #3
Chris16v
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 531
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8 t
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

Do you still have the decoder ring that fits around the ignition barrel?
Chris16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 09:33 PM   #4
Broomel
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Somerset
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AGoaty View Post
You say you have tried to sync the fob but how have you done this?
First way is simply press lock 5 times then unlock.
Second is remove fob battery. Press both buttons together 5 times then replace battery.

Have you done both ways?
I had not tried 5 locks then unlock however I've just tried and it doesn't make any difference.

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk
Broomel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 09:37 PM   #5
Broomel
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Somerset
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris16v View Post
Do you still have the decoder ring that fits around the ignition barrel?
Nope? Thought there was a receiver wire from the 5AS to pick up signal?

Down to one key fob now anyway and the retaining clip for the battery just snapped off one.

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk
Broomel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 09:40 AM   #6
Chris16v
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 531
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8 t
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broomel View Post
Nope? Thought there was a receiver wire from the 5AS to pick up signal?

Down to one key fob now anyway and the retaining clip for the battery just snapped off one.

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk
Double check with the other guys. Its been a few years since i completed my wiring but I still have it

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
Chris16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 12:34 PM   #7
edk83
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 582
Default

I don't have the ignition barrel ring thing on my mems3.

I have had that thing where the 5as goes nuts though, clicks on and off like mad for about 10 seconds, only happened a couple of times though. Turning the ignition off or and back on again or maybe disconnecting the car battery sorts it.

I have a battery breaker switch so it's normally off. Normally on powering up I get no noise from the 5as or led. Then after pressing lock on the fob 4 times it clicks and the led flashes, press unlock and it clicks again, led off, car starts.

Trying to start with 5as locked, it wont crank and no fuel pump.

Sounds like you may not have a matched set, have you got the 5as status flashing led wired up? Not needed but helpful.

Would be interesting to hear if anyone else had the 5as crazy on / off click, mine did stop after about 10 seconds but it's a little strange

Last edited by edk83; 04-04-2018 at 12:41 PM.
edk83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 02:52 PM   #8
AGoaty
Senior Member
 
AGoaty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keighley, West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,825
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1796
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

I know my mate Steve had a lot of issues with the immobiliser. I am sure the quick clicking was one of them.

I have swapped ECU sets on both MEMS 2 and MEMS 3 cars and the steering wheel ring has no part in the set.

I would try to borrow a known ECU set and try that. They don't like posting due to fragile components. Steve had 3 sets posted and only one worked. All claimed to be working when removed.
__________________
If tha does owt fo nowt, olas do it fo this 'en.

Last edited by AGoaty; 04-04-2018 at 02:59 PM.
AGoaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 06:47 PM   #9
Broomel
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Somerset
Posts: 42
Default

Thanks for the response chaps, it's not necessarily a quick clicking from the 5as but like a alarm horn speed, 20 seconds on then 20 seconds off.

Tempted just to send ecu to kmap for imob delete rather than trying to locate more fobs, ecu and 5as.

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk
Broomel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 07:07 PM   #10
Chris16v
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 531
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8 t
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broomel View Post
Thanks for the response chaps, it's not necessarily a quick clicking from the 5as but like a alarm horn speed, 20 seconds on then 20 seconds off.

Tempted just to send ecu to kmap for imob delete rather than trying to locate more fobs, ecu and 5as.

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk
Sound plan!
Chris16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 07:08 PM   #11
InstantCustard
Senior Member
 
InstantCustard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitworth, Lancashire
Posts: 5,830
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1.8
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald K6
Default

Get an Emerald ECU! Problem solved!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnard View Post
couldnt be bothered to stretch that far to pull it out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardonfast View Post
Haz obviously don't like custard , my Mrs spits it out to!
I love it
InstantCustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 07:12 PM   #12
Broomel
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Somerset
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InstantCustard View Post
Get an Emerald ECU! Problem solved!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ain't got a never ending bank account like jackjewell93

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk
Broomel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 06:00 AM   #13
AGoaty
Senior Member
 
AGoaty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keighley, West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,825
Subframe: Watson
CC: 1796
Make: Rover
ECU: Standard
Default

Before you do that, check the wiring, in particular the earth's. I remember Steve had many issues where a loose earth wire that seemingly did nothing, would actually go into the loom and then the system would work. All solid black wires are earth. There is a "bus" with about 30 behind the dash. One main connection to the body. Without that, almost none of the electrical circuits will run.

Just read your previous post on wiring. You were going to use a TF 160 loom. These have extra wires to a green multi plug. Not sure what these do as my only dealings with these are in a TF!
__________________
If tha does owt fo nowt, olas do it fo this 'en.

Last edited by AGoaty; 05-04-2018 at 06:15 AM.
AGoaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 07:52 AM   #14
jackjewell93
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Chard Somerset
Posts: 229
Subframe: Home Made
CC: 1800
Make: Rover
ECU: Emerald
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broomel View Post
Ain't got a never ending bank account like jackjewell93

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk
Don't drag me into this mini has cleared me out I'm broke 🙄😂
jackjewell93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 08:06 AM   #15
Broomel
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Somerset
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackjewell93 View Post
Don't drag me into this mini has cleared me out I'm broke
As your minis melonsed already I can just use your emerald?

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk
Broomel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.